Letters to a Christian God, A Series

Dear Supposed God of Abraham,

It has been four days since my first letter to you.  However, it’s been over thirty-two years since my birth.  While nothing has yet convinced me that you do not exist, it’s apparent that you have little interest in actively convincing me that you do in fact exist.  I ask you, why should this be?  Why do I remain unconvinced?  Out of many possible explanations, three, in particular, ring louder and clearer than the rest.  One: You are, at least in part, impotent.  Is it true that you lack the power to convince me of your existence?  Two: You are, at least in part, unknowing.  Is it true that you, while possessing sufficient powers, lack the knowledge of what it would take to convince me?  Three: You are at least in part, evil.  Is it true that you, while possessing enough of the power and knowledge required to convince me, and knowing the punishment that you choose to inflict on those who are unconvinced, remain illusive and ambiguous?  This is concerning, indeed, god.  How privileged your devotees must be to have received such evidence as to be certain of your existence.  Why leave out those who are so open to being convinced?  I would be simply elated in a self-discovery so monumental as that of a god-like being.  — Jason

Leave a Reply

